quinebaug valley community college

Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the governing body of the Academic Affairs Division, and is both an independent governance structure for the members of the Academic Affairs Division and an advisory body to the Dean of Academic Affairs. The primary function of the Academic Senate is the development and oversight of policies, procedures, and proposals related to programs, curriculum, and other functions of the Academic Affairs Division and its constituent members. The Senate is the forum where discussion on curriculum, academic matters, and academic policy and procedure occurs.

Mission: The Quinebaug Valley Community College (QVCC) Academic Senate engages in the development of policies and procedures relating to all academic issues of QVCC.

Academic Senate Leadership 2017-2018

William G. Army, President (1st year)
Coordinator of Learning Center
Lecturer in History
warmy@qvcc.edu

John Lewis, Vice President (1st year)
Interim Academic Division Director/Professor of Chemistry
jlewis@qvcc.edu

Curriculum, Instruction, and Policy Committee (CIP):

Christopher Parden, Chair (1st year)
Assistant Professor of Computer Services & Program Coordinator
cparden@qvcc.edu

Kudzai Zvoma, Vice Chair (1st year)
Associate Professor of Mathematics
kzvoma@qvcc.edu

Christine Mailhot, Member at Large  (2nd year)
Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Academic Affairs and Student Services
cmailhot@qvcc.edu

Debora Rimkus, Faculty Member (2nd year)
Instructor of Mathematics
drimkus@qvcc.edu

Jennifer Cournoyer, Member at Large (1st year)
Director of Library Services
jcournoyer@qvcc.edu

Melissa Philion, Faculty Member (1st year)
Professor of Biology
mphilion@qvcc.edu