quinebaug valley community college

Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the governing body of the Academic Affairs Division, and is both an independent governance structure for the members of the Academic Affairs Division and an advisory body to the Dean of Academic Affairs. The primary function of the Academic Senate is the development and oversight of policies, procedures, and proposals related to programs, curriculum, and other functions of the Academic Affairs Division and its constituent members. The Senate is the forum where discussion on curriculum, academic matters, and academic policy and procedure occurs.

Mission: The Quinebaug Valley Community College (QVCC) Academic Senate engages in the development of policies and procedures relating to all academic issues of QVCC.

Academic Senate Leadership 2015-16

O. Brian Kaufman, President (2nd year)
Associate Professor of English

William G. Army, Vice President (2nd one-year term)
Coordinator of Learning Center
Lecturer in History

Curriculum, Instruction, and Policy Committee (CIP):

Jakob Spjut, Chair (2nd year)
Assistant Professor of Engineering & Technology

Heath Hightower, Vice Chair (1st year)
Assistant Professor of Human Services & Program Coordinator

Joachim Bullacher, Member at Large (one-year appointment)
Assistant Professor of Mathematics

Jane Carey, Member at Large (2nd year)
Assistant Professor of English

Brian Donohue-Lynch, Member at Large (one-year appointment)
Professor of English

M’lyn Hines, Member at Large (1st year)
Reference & Instruction Librarian

Mark Lowe, Member at Large (1st year)
Instructor of Humanities

Cheryl White, Member at Large (2nd year)
Library Associate II