quinebaug valley community college

Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the governing body of the Academic Affairs Division, and is both an independent governance structure for the members of the Academic Affairs Division and an advisory body to the Dean of Academic Affairs. The primary function of the Academic Senate is the development and oversight of policies, procedures, and proposals related to programs, curriculum, and other functions of the Academic Affairs Division and its constituent members. The Senate is the forum where discussion on curriculum, academic matters, and academic policy and procedure occurs.

Mission: The Quinebaug Valley Community College (QVCC) Academic Senate engages in the development of policies and procedures relating to all academic issues of QVCC.

Academic Senate Leadership 2016-2017

O. Brian Kaufman, President (3rd year)
Associate Professor of English
okaufman@qvcc.edu

William G. Army, Vice President (3rd one-year term)
Coordinator of Learning Center
Lecturer in History
warmy@qvcc.edu

Curriculum, Instruction, and Policy Committee (CIP):

Mark Lowe, Chair (1st year)
Instructor of Humanities
mlowe@qvcc.edu

Christopher Parden, Vice Chair (1st year)
Assistant Professor of Computer Services & Program Coordinator
cparden@qvcc.edu

Heath Hightower, Member at Large (2nd year)
Assistant Professor of Human Services & Program Coordinator
hhightower@qvcc.edu

M’lyn Hines, Member at Large (2nd year)
Reference & Instruction Librarian
mhines@qvcc.edu

Amy Kacerik, Member at Large (2nd year)
Director of Student Services & Registrar
akacerik@qvcc.edu

Christine Mailhot (1st year)
Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Academic Affairs and Student Services
cmailhot@qvcc.edu