NECHE Self Study

New England Commission of Higher Education logo


Quinebaug Valley Community College has been accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE), formerly the Institutions of Higher Education of the New England Association of Schools and Colleges (NEASC), since 1979 and was last reviewed in 2011. Its accreditation by the New England Association encompasses the entire institution.

The New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) is a voluntary, non-governmental membership association that serves as an institutional accreditor and promotes educational excellence and quality assurance to its member institutions.

Quinebaug Valley Community College has been engaged in a process of self-study, addressing the Commission’s Standards for Accreditation. An evaluation team will visit the institution on April 3-6, 2022 to gather evidence that the self-study is thorough and accurate. The team will recommend to the Commission a continuing status for the institution. Following a review process, the Commission itself will take the final action.

Standard 1: Mission and Purposes
Standard 2: Planning and Evaluation
Standard 3: Organization and Governance
Standard 4: The Academic Program
Standard 5: Students
Standard 6: Teaching, Learning, and Scholarship
Standard 7: Institutional Resources
Standard 8: Educational Effectiveness
Standard 9: Integrity, Transparency, and Public Disclosure

The full text of the Standards for Accreditation can be found on the NECHE website:

The public is invited to submit comments regarding the institution to:

Public Comment on Quinebaug Valley Community College
Commission on Institutions of Higher Education New England Association of Schools and Colleges
209 Burlington Road, Suite 201
Bedford, MA 01730-1433

Public Comments must address substantive matters related to the quality of the institution. The Commission cannot settle disputes between individuals and institutions, whether those involve faculty, students, administrators, or members of other groups. Comments will not be treated as confidential and must include the name, address, and telephone number of the person providing the comments. Public Comments must be received by February 11, 2022. The Commission cannot guarantee that comments received after that date will be considered.