quinebaug valley community college

Academic Senate

The Academic Senate is the governing body of the Academic Affairs Division, and is both an independent governance structure for the members of the Academic Affairs Division and an advisory body to the Dean of Academic Affairs. The primary function of the Academic Senate is the development and oversight of policies, procedures, and proposals related to programs, curriculum, and other functions of the Academic Affairs Division and its constituent members. The Senate is the forum where discussion on curriculum, academic matters, and academic policy and procedure occurs.

Mission: The Quinebaug Valley Community College (QVCC) Academic Senate engages in the development of policies and procedures relating to all academic issues of QVCC.

2019-2020 Academic Senate Leadership

Christopher Parden, President (1st year)
Associate Professor of Computer Services & Program Coordinator
cparden@qvcc.edu

Jakob Spjut, Vice President (1st year)
Associate Professor of Engineering Science

2019-2020 Curriculum, Instruction, and Policy Committee (CIP)

Mark Lowe, Chair (1st year)
Assistant Professor of Humanities
mlowe@qvcc.edu

Denise Walsh, Vice-Chair (1st year)
Professor of Mathematics
dwalsh@qvcc.edu

Joachim Bullacher (2nd year)
Assistant Professor of Mathematics
jbullacher@qvcc.edu

Cynthia Shirshac (1st year)
Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education
cshirshac@qvcc.edu

Joy Mark (1st year)
Professor of Mathematics
jmark@qvcc.edu

Mark Szantyr (2nd year)
Professor of Fine Arts
mszantyr@qvcc.edu

Student Services Representative
Nicole Marcoux-Bowen
Registrar
nmarcoux-bowen@qvcc.edu