Honor Societies Induct New Members

Forty-two Quinebaug Valley Community College students were inducted into one or more of the college’s academic honor societies at a ceremony held March 28.

Alpha Beta Gamma is an international business honor society established in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students in business and related curricula. New members include: Dean Campanaro of Brooklyn; Grace Denault of Thompson; Sarah Dragon of Norwich; Maria Miranda and Jason Walker of North Grosvenordale; Tanya Rizer of Canterbury; Emma Salatin of Preston; Valerie Schrump of Putnam; Christina Small of Danielson; and Megan Vertefeuille of Dayville.

Phi Theta Kappa is the International Honor Society of the Two Year College. Students must pass rigorous academic requirements, which include enrollment in a degree program, the completion of 12 credits, and maintaining a GPA of 3.5 or above. New members include: Sarah Acelin and Renee Vezina of Plainfield; Tyler Adams and Michaela Rouillard of Sterling; Hannah-Rose Andrews, Thomas Kacerik, and Stephanie Marasco of Pomfret; Alexus Arrington of Moosup; Mary Arsenault and Christina Haynes of Willimantic; Crystal Coraccio, Ryan Deoliveira, Marrisa Herring, and Patty Pescatello of Brooklyn; Analia Correa, Dana Huber, Roxann Huckaby, and Edward Walsh of Danielson; Aurora Dziadul of Griswold; Vincent Goernert, Genie Johnson, and Cuinn Stevenson of Woodstock; Cameron Huizenga and Alexander Iamartino of Thompson; Rachel Kistler of Jewett City; Courtney Knudson of Canterbury; James Laudon and Emma Salatin of Preston; Jose Negron of Hartford; Emily Stewart of Storrs; Samantha Stone of Putnam; and Shannon McMaugh of Foster, RI.

Tau Upsilon Alpha, a human services honor society, honors academic excellence, fosters lifelong learning, leadership and development, and promotes excellence in service to humanity. Karena Burnham of Thompson is the newest member.

Released March 29, 2018