myCTState, the new student information system for CT State Community College, is now available for all transactions pertaining to Fall 2023. Search for classes, register for the fall semester, transfer in credits, and more. Go to to log in with your NetID and password.
quinebaug valley community college

LiR Executive Council and Committees

Executive Council  2022-2023

Guests on WINY
Members of LiR as guests on WINY radio.

Barbara Schreier, President
Vacant, Vice President
Joan Buell, Secretary
Frank Aleman, Treasurer

Richard Anger
Maureen Bender
Christina Dymek-Thompson
Mabel Green
Lenore Gudmundson
Jim Hamel
Pat Hertzfeld
Marie Sasson
Barbara Scalise

Past President
Mary Saad


Barbara Laliberte, Chair
Following an established format, classes are offered in the fall, winter, and spring and vary in the number of sessions. The committee develops the course schedule and finds volunteers to teach on a variety of topics.

Lee Felpel, Co-Chair & Jim Hamel, Co-Chair
This committee maintains an up-to-date membership list and mails all members information on upcoming courses and events.

Frank Aleman, Chair
LiR is a non-profit organization and the Executive Council monitors all expenditures. LiR funds several scholarships for deserving QVCC students.

Judy Swayze, Chair
This committee is responsible for arranging refreshments that are required for LiR functions.

Information Technology Liaison
The liaison works on the utilization of the technical resources at the college with the LiR members who use these resources.

Scholarship Liaison
Dotti Durst
The liaison is a voting member of the QVCC Foundation, coordinates a LiR donation drive, and awards scholarships at the annual Scholarships Night in May.

Interested in becoming an Executive Council member or want to know what the roles are of the different committee chairs? Check our Guidelines for Executive Council members.